Young Alumni Merit

Young Alumni Merit

by Michelle Queiser

Awarded Spring Commencement by Southeast Alumni Association to alumni 37 years or younger who excel in professional growth, service and individual character.


Daniele Cerone Griffin

Daniele Cerone ’01
Master of Arts in communication disorders

Daniele is a speech-language pathologist in the Special School District in St. Louis County, where she works supporting students at the early childhood level. She has been awarded the Lasting Impression Award by the Special School District for making a difference both in and out of the classroom and positively impacting students’ success. She was involved in the implementation of Project Hope fundraising initiatives. Now in its sixth year, the program provides financial assistance for early childhood special education students and their families, including basic needs, such as clothing, coats, shoes, socks, diapers and food.


Shanna Wilson

Shanna Wilson ’02
Bachelor of Science in Education with a major in elementary education

Shanna is completing her 13th year in education and her fourth year as a building administrator in the Jackson R-2 School District. She is currently a member of the school district’s Learning Environment and Facilities team, and a member of the Orchard Drive Elementary Parent Teacher Organization and the Jackson Kiwanis. Under her leadership, the Orchard Drive Elementary team incorporated the motto “Every Child is Our Child” as a daily reminder to all teachers and staff that every child is treated as their own while attending Orchard; this includes providing basic needs and care, such as making sure students have had breakfast, brushed their teeth or have a warm coat in the winter months.


Dr. Damien Myers

Dr. Damien Myers ’07, ’08
Bachelor of Science in biology with an emphasis in biomedical sciences and Bachelor of Arts in chemistry.

Damien was awarded a full fellowship to study genetics at Howard University in Washington, D.C., and graduated in 2014 with a Doctor of Philosophy in human and medical genetics. While completing his doctoral studies at Howard University, he was awarded multiple fellowships and awards, including: The Bridge to Doctorate Fellowship, The Alliance for Graduate Education and the Professoriate Fellowship, and The Excellence in Leadership Award for outstanding leadership skills. He served as the grade level chair for the  Knowledge Is Power Program (KIPP) at Blytheville Collegiate High School in Blytheville, Arkansas. Beginning this July, he became the director of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) for the KIPP Blytheville School District.


Audrey Stanfield

Audrey Stanfield ’10
Bachelor of Fine Arts in acting and directing

Audrey moved to New York City and returned to the prestigious Herbert Berghof Studio where, as a member of the ensemble, she performed in numerous plays and original works throughout the city. She is a member of the Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists and is signed with Abrams Agency for television and voice-over commercial work. She has appeared in commercials, films, television and Web sketches. She has written a one-woman show and performs original characters and impressions around the city several days a week. She became a cast member of the Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre and began taking improvisation classes.


Mitchell Newhouse

Mitchell Newhouse ’06
Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a major in economics

Now a compliance counsel for Edwards Jones’ Investment Advisory & Funds Compliance team, Mitchell is responsible for regulatory and compliance matters associated with Edward Jones’ affiliated mutual fund complex as well as managed accounts held by Edward Jones’ retail investors. In addition to his tenure at Edward Jones, Newhouse served as counsel for Scottrade, Inc., where he provided guidance and legal support to the firm’s numerous business lines and its affiliated investment adviser.


Recommended Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *