Winning Teams

Winning Teams

We don’t like to boast. We’re much more interested in doing the work than getting the bragging rights, but if we’re being completely honest, we have a lot to be proud of. Our students are accomplished goal-getters, with the drive and fight to achieve their dreams.
All in the name of learning. That’s what sets our academic programs apart form other schools. We afford our students the opportunity to compete, learn, grow, and excel not only in their course work but also their entire college experience.

Southeast Collegiate DECA students competed in the 2019 Collegiate DECA International Career Development Conference and Competition in Orlando, Florida.

The following students were named Top 10 Finalists:
/ Event Planning: Madison Francis and Hannah Gordon
/ Entrepreneurship – Starting a Business: Alicia Merry and David Rook
/ Restaurant and Food Service Management: Lindsey Myers

The Southeast students competed against a field of more than 1,000 outstanding competitors from colleges and universities in the United States and Canada.

As part of its commitment to experiential learning, the Department of Marketing in Southeast’s Donald L. Harrison College of Business and Computing has sponsored Collegiate DECA for several years and each year sends numerous participants to the state and international competitions.
In the 2018-2019 school year, membership has grown to more than 35, making the Southeast Collegiate DECA chapter the largest in the state of Missouri.


A team of Southeast business students finished fifth out of 16 qualifying finalists at the Championship Round of the 2019 Network of International Business Schools (NIBS) Worldwide Case Competition Feb. 1722 in Prince Edward Island, Canada.

Management and Marketing Class Meets

Cyber Defense 7X State Champs
The Southeast Cyber Defense Team extended its streak as reigning Missouri state champions after winning the 2019 Missouri Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition (CCDC) for the seventh straight year.

Southeast students competing in the Missouri CCDC were Mackenzie Bonneville of Mapleton, Illinois; Andrew Banning of Salem, Illinois; Michael Maune of Villa Ridge, Missouri; Timothy Vitale of Wentzville, Missouri; Ben Shell of Marble Hill, Missouri; Ethan Gyori of Eureka, Missouri; Connor McGarr of Cape Girardeau, Missouri; Cramer McGarr of Cape Girardeau, Missouri; Jack Gavin of Lee’s Summit, Missouri; Max Foster of Freeburg, Illinois; Connor Bybee of Carterville, Illinois; and Joseph Kossack of Vienna, Illinois.

“The program challenges students to strive for excellence, and the results show,” Dr. Vijay Anand said.“It also shows the commitment of students and their willingness to put in long hours to hone their skills and establish camaraderie and trust to be able compete at a very high level.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *